A Celebration of Academic Achievement

By Myra Saturen
April 26, 2013

Northampton Community College recognized outstanding academic achievements at a Amy Dewland, Jessica Marcantoni and Bryn ThorpeConvocations Award Ceremony on April 25. 

After the singing of "God Bless America," by students Amy Dewland, Jessica Marcantoni and Bryn  Thorpe, accompanied on the piano by Mario Acerra, professor of radio/TV, Dr. Jeffrey Focht, vice president for academic affairs spoke to the audience.  Reminding the gathering that success is not achieved alone, he acknowledged the awardees' effort and commitment and the contributions of faculty, staff, families and friends. "Know how proud we are of you," he said. 

Dr. Charles Rinehimer, professor of biology and the 2012 recipient of the Christensen Award for Excellence in Teaching, addressed the honorees as "the reason I walk into class with a smile on my face and full of anticipation." 

The top award, the Trustee Leadership Award was given to Khloud Hassan-Assran, a liberal Khloud Hassan-Assranarts/political science major, who also delivered the student address.  Among her many accomplishments, she is president of the Phi Theta Kappa academic honor society.  She is the first in her family to continue her education beyond high school and was commended as an outstanding student. 

"I am thankful for the many leadership opportunities I have received at NCC," she said.  "I made the right choice to come to NCC, with its welcoming and family-like environment.  The award means so much to me and my family."  She said the list of people she'd like to thank would require a second awards convocation to fit them all  in, but she particularly singled out for her gratitude Frank Pologruto, director of student life, and Ronit Shemtov, associate professor of sociology. 

Other awardees included:

Cesaria Adote - Pearson Education Award

Katelyn Armbruster - 2013 Jack Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship

Stacy Beaty - All Pennsylvania Academic Team, Newman Civic Fellows Award, Hites Foundation Higher Education Endowment Scholarship, Northampton Community College Service Learning Award

Susan Broyles - January 2013 Leadership Award - R.N.

Kristin Cook - All Pennsylvania Academic Team, Who's Who Among Students, Hites Foundation Higher Education Endowment Scholarship

Amy L. Dollak - Lehigh & Northampton Association for the Education of the Young Child Award

Qi Dong - All Pennsylvania Academic Team

Rachel Fehnel - Just Born Business Award

Eder M. Florian - Outstanding Academic Achievement in Chemistry Award

Brian Fry - Hites Foundation Higher Education Endowment Scholarship

Mark Gatsch - Klein Tools Award

Gary George - The Lehigh Valley Chapter of the International Society of Automation Nicholas A. Stangil Memorial Scholarship

Michael Gmitter - Clinical Achievement Award, R.N.

Alexander Haines - Who's Who Among Students

Chloe Hoyak - Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter American Institute of Architects Award

Michelle-Anne Kehler - Institute of Management Accounting Award

Erin Ketz - Marketing Insight Award

Kyla Kutz - Who's Who Among Students

Allyssa Langer - Who's Who Among Students

Melanie D. Lawson - Northampton County Bar Association Award

Anna Macagnone - Who's Who Among Students

Jessie Martinez - Who's Who Among Students

Phillisa Matthews - Who's Who Among Students 

Rebekah A. Peluszak - Marconi Award for Radio/TV

Taylor Anne Quire - Monroe County Association for the Education of the Young Child Award

Timothy D. Reigle - Funeral Service Education Student of the Year Award

Rachel Reninga - Who's Who Among Students 

Alicia Rennekamp - Who's Who Among Students

William R. Rowe, III - ACBSP Student Leadership Award

David Ruck - Who's Who Among Students

John Shin - All Pennsylvania Academic Team

Carada Springstead - Pearson Education Award

Andrew Stauffer - Who's Who Among Students 

Jacob Steinour - Klein Tools Award, Electrical Contractors of the Lehigh Valley Award

Margaret Stewart - Bethlehem Jr. Women's Club Nursing Award

Lea V. Svendsen - Pennsylvania Funeral Director's Award

Courtney Lovella Taney - Drs. Edward & Arnold R. Cook Award for Academic Excellence in Dental Hygiene

Tara Vacca - 2013 L.P.N. Clinical Achievement Award, Monroe Campus

Tracy Vishnesky - 2013 L.P.N. Clinical Achievement Award, Main Campus

Lisa M. Wright - Liberal Arts Award

The Pan African One World United Student Caucus - Prism Diversity Award

 View more photos of this event, including many of the winners, on Flickr. 






To review Northampton Community College's guidelines for public comments, click here

© Northampton Community College 3835 Green Pond Rd Bethlehem, PA 18020 610-861-5300