Student Leadership Class Graduates

Tomorrow’s leaders

Mia Rossi,

Inclusion in Northampton Community College’s Leadership Class is highly competitive. Students are selected from a pool of candidates through an application process which includes a formal interview. That’s why there was so much to celebrate when the fifteen students who were ultimately chosen for the program graduated in a special ceremony on April 17.


Over the course of twelve weeks, students got the opportunity to visit Martin Guitar to tour their museum and attend a retreat at the Fowler Family Southside Center’s Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, where they participated in a Strengths Finder and Myers-Briggs Test (MBTI) activities. The MBTI is a personality test that can show how one sees the world around them and how they make decisions. The Strengths Finder test shows certain traits and characteristics that a person has and identities what their core values are by classifying them into categories, such as Achiever or Arranger.  


Students heard from college and community speaker events throughout the program, including President of NCC, Dr. Erickson, Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment, Sedgwick Harris, and Chief Diversity Officer, Scott Blair. Don Robertson and Donna Goss, from the Center for Business and Industry (CBI), worked with students on The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership.


These students discovered their leadership traits and strengthened their team-building and communication skills. We look forward to seeing how they put those leadership skills to work!


Graduates of the class are as follows:

Amber Willetts, business administration 

Emily Learn, hospitality management     

Laura Rex, biological science     

Carmen Alcantara Tapia, biological science

Sarah Irwin, funeral services     

Sophia Le, interior design     

Mason Gettys, paralegal program 

Mpho Khothalang Tsiu, accounting 

Vivian Smith, communications     

Amadou Camara, achitecture 

Ayesha Perry, special education     

Kayleigh Lahr, early childhood education     

Sabiha Prema, hotel management     

Moses Okoth Otieno, automotive technology     

Justin Delp, mechanical engineering