NCC's Tau Gamma Chapter of NCC Receives Multiple Awards

Regional and international recognition earned

Northampton Community College's (NCC) Tau Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges, received multiple awards at the 2020 Regional Convention (March  27) and International Convention (“Catalyst” on April 23-24), held virtually. These awards are based on the chapter initiatives during the 2019 calendar year.

PTK recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

Regional Awards

Tau Gamma was recognized in each of the Hallmark categories out of 82 chapters in the Middle States Region:

Individual Awards:

  • Most Distinguished Chapter Officer Award: Danielle Hanson, second place
  • Most Distinguished Chapter Officer Award: Laura Rex, third place
  • Super Hero of the Year: Laura Rex, one of five awarded
  • Most Distinguished College Administrator:  Dr. Sedgwick Harris, Vice President of Student Affairs
  • 5 Star Advisor Award: for new advisors that have completed the International Advising Training program:

                Tyler Russell, Student Life Administrator

                Megan Borascius, Success Navigator, Academic Advisor

Tau Gamma Chapter Awards:

  • 5 Star Chapter Award
  • Middle States Gold Chapter
  • Completion Week Award: Completion Week Programming , one of five awarded
  • Distinguished College Project Award, ninth place
  • Honors in Action Theme Award: Visions of Justice, first place
  • Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award, fourth place
  • Distinguished Chapter Award, seventh place

International Hallmark Awards

Tau Gamma was recognized for their achievements out of 1,289 Chapters Worldwide

  • Distinguished College Administrator (one of 15 awarded)- Dr. Sedgwick Harris, Vice President Of Student Affairs and Enrollment
  • Distinguished Chapter Officer(one out of 51 awarded)- Danielle Hanson
  • Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award (one out of 50 awarded)- Inequality in Access to STEM Education
  • Most Distinguished Chapter (one out of 50 awarded)

Tau Gamma Officers and Advisors are:

Chapter Officers:

President: Danielle Hanson

Vice-President: Asher Glynn

Secretary: Laura Rex

Treasurer: Victoria Rosenthal

PR Officer: Brooke Coonrod

Chapter Advisors:

Megan Borascius- Success Navigator, Academic Advisor

Jennifer Del Quadro- Communication Professor

Nicole Hallowell- Success Navigator, Academic Advisor

Stephanie McLaughlin- Success Navigator, Academic Advisor

Tyler Russell- Student Life Administrator