Weather Alert
Due to the weather all NCC locations are closed today Wed., Feb. 20.

President's Biography

Dr. Mark H. Erickson became the fourth president of Northampton Community College on July 1, 2012. His inauguration took place on October 4 during a week of festivities celebrating the 45th anniversary of Northampton's founding.

Dr. Mark EricksonDr. Mark H. Erickson became the fourth president of Northampton Community College on July 1, 2012, as the College prepared to celebrate the 45th anniversary of its founding.

He said then, and he continues to believe that the most innovative, exciting and important work of the next decade will happen at community colleges. A native of Nebraska, Dr. Erickson holds a bachelor's degree in American history from Princeton University and a master's degree in education from Harvard University.

While earning his doctorate in educational leadership at Lehigh University, he received the Mathew W. Gaffney Award for Academic Excellence. He served in several important positions at Lehigh, including dean of students from 1990-1999, associate vice president and executive assistant to the president from 1999-2001, and vice president for administrative and government affairs from 2001-2005.  

In 2005 he was named president of Wittenberg University.  During his seven years there he was credited with facilitating the development of new academic programs, expanding international exchange opportunities, and fostering a close and mutually beneficial relationship with the city of Springfield, Ohio.  

Dr. Erickson's interest in the presidency at Northampton stemmed from his ties to the communities Northampton serves, his long-standing admiration for the work of the College and its impact on those communities, and his affinity for Northampton's commitment to access, its student-centered focus and its entrepreneurial spirit.  

Among the most significant accomplishments of his early years as president of  Northampton have been the college's selection as one of the top 150 community colleges in the nation by the Aspen Institute in 2014; the national honors that students have won for academic achievement; recognition of the caliber of the faculty as the third faculty member in seven years was chosen as the Pennsylvania Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education; the opening of a new $72 million 84-acre campus built to LEED-Gold standards in Monroe County; being awarded a $10 million federal grant as the lead partner in a three-college consortium to prepare residents of northeastern Pennsylvania for high-demand careers in healthcare, advanced manufacturing and logistics/transportation; NCC being selected as one of four recipients (from 114 applicants) for the first 100,000 Strong in the Americas Grant and as one of nine colleges and universities in the country to receive a Green Ribbon School award from the U.S. Department of Education; the College's recognition in multiple years as one of the top community colleges in the country for advances in technology by The Center for Digital Education and for excellence in fundraising  by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education; and NCC being named the "best place to work" among large employers in the Lehigh Valley in 2013.  

His local, state and national leadership includes serving as Chair of Community Colleges for International Development, Chair of the Lehigh Valley Education Talent Supply Council and on the boards of the Lehigh Valley Industrial Parks, the Lehigh Valley Economic Development Corporation, the Workforce Board Lehigh Valley, and Pennsylvania Campus Compact.