Legislators Meet with NCC Students

Talking about the value of community colleges

Lobby Day 2016

Twelve students from NCC's Bethlehem and Monroe campuses traveled to Harrisburg on Tuesday, April 3, to talk with state legislators about the difference that community colleges make in the lives of hundreds of thousands of Pennsylvania residents and their value to the state's economy.

Representative Rosemary Brown, NCC Students Shaudey Rivers and Danielle Penny, and Matt Maldonato, NCC Student Life and Leadership Development Administrator

The students were accompanied by two NCC trustees - Bob Fehnel and Loretta Leeson - and by NCC's president, Dr. Mark Erickson, Vice President for Administrative Affairs Helene Whitaker, and several other staff members.Legislators who made time in their busy schedules to meet with them were Senator Mario Scavello and representatives Rosemary Brown, Robert Freeman, Marcia Hahn, Daniel McNeill, David Parker, Jack Rader and Steve Samuelson.

The Capitol was full of community college students from across the state for the annual Lobby Day organized by the Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges.

During a news conference on the steps of the main rotunda Senator Scavello praised Northampton for offering students a way to get a world-class education while avoiding debt.  He noted that a key member of his staff is a Northampton graduate.

All who passed through the rotunda had an opportunity to see how Northampton is helping to meet the state's workforce needs.  Chris Gaylo and Dino Forst of the College's Center for Advanced Technology demonstrated rapid prototyping equipment, producing small items right before the visitors' eyes.  A portable programmable Chris Gaylo (left) of NCC's Center for Advanced Technologylogic controller training system and a metallurgical microscope used by students preparing for immediate employment in manufacturing and welding also attracted a lot of attention.

The students who participated were Rachel Beissel, Natalia Castillo, Katarina Delnero, William Feliciano, Connor Gregson, Patrick Grifone, Danielle Penny, Shaudey Rivers, Isabela Roman, Anthony Santilli, Nathan Smith and Oksana Szankovics.

Senator Mario Scavello