COVID-19 Information & Fall Plans

Time to Celebrate

Student Stars on the Red Carpet at "The Sammys"

Northampton Community College students rejoiced in their academic and non-academic achievements in clubs, athletics and more at the annual Student Celebration on April 21 in the Student Life Zone. The Sammys

This year's theme, "The Sammys," was based on the Academy Awards, and featured a star-studded red carpet for participants to walk down. Huge "Oscar-esque" statues of Sam Spartan flanked the stage, and Student Senate Masters of Ceremonies Jose' Galarza (chairperson) and Patrick Grifone (treasurer) were formally dressed for the event.

Student performances interspersed with the awards included the NCC Instrumental Ensemble playing as guests entered; a modern dance piece by Sara Gong; a solo guitar and vocal performance by this year's Open Mic winner, Danny Abruzzi; a song by Gertrude Kibagendi; poetry  readings by Nate Decker and Chris Moore of The Laconic; a performance by the NCC Cheerleaders; and a song by Anthony Giedman.

Awardees were:

William F. Bearse Scholar Athlete Award:

Emily Koehler, Ben Hauser

Charles H. Groman Athletic Award:

Lauren Thompson, Michael Samuel

NCC Alumni Association Athlete of the Year:

Samantha Bertasavage, Derek Kulp

Environmental Excellence:The Sammys

PTK's "Ban the Bottle" Committee

ADDY Awards (Advertising):

Kenny Colodonato, Dave Meyers, Lucas Shuck, Sean Tierney, Patricia Stanton, Tracy Laurie-Lakhram, Emily Evans, Joel Benitez, Joshua Brown   

Club of the Year:

International Student Organization (ISO)

Prism Award:

Michelle Zattoni

Freshman Leadership Award:

Patrick Grifone

Jennifer Simrell Resident-Student Award:

Josh Moser 

Skills USA State Awards

Derrick Ramirez , Corrine Gray , William Feliciano    

Club Adviser:The Sammys

Michael Pogach (The Laconic)

Most Memorable Student Event:

Zeta Kappa Psi's "Haunted Woods" for Halloween 

Club Wars

1st place: Nursing Student Organization (NSO)
2nd place: PAN African Caucus Togetherness (PACT)
3rd place: Residence Halls

Special recognition was also given to student organization Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Tau Gamma chapter, and to Vice President for Enrollment & Student Affairs Dr. Susan Salvador.

Highlights of the celebration included a cavalcade of clubs and an international student parade.   Check out more photos in this photo gallery.