COVID-19 Information & Fall Plans

Convocation Awards Ceremony Honors NCC Top Students

Congratulations to our student award winners!

By Myra Saturen,

It was a proud day for Northampton Community College.  On April 27, NCC awarded its top academic honors to students who have excelled.    

Professor Dolin Sedgwick L. Harris, vice president for student affairs and enrollment, welcomed the audience of students, families, friends,

and staff to the joyous occasion.  After "America the Beautiful," sung with artistry by student Bria Dews, Dr. Carolyn Bortz, vice president for academic affairs, called the honorees "our best and our brightest," and applauded their hard work and persistence.  

Andrea Corrado, associate professor of nursing and the recipient of NCC's Christensen Award for Excellence in Teaching 2016, gave the convocation address. "We pause today to recognize our shared work ethic and love of learning," she said.  She praised her mentor, Professor Kathleen Dolin, for being her "beginning," in an academic setting and someone she emulates.  

The awards and their recipients included:
Trustee Leadership Award:
Ryan Armbruster

American Advertising Federation/Greater Lehigh Valley Ad Club Creative Achievement Award:
Corey M. Sebring
Nathan W. Dorshime

The Friends of Gregory Purdon Award for Excellence in Art
Allezondra Janeska Metz

Pearson Education Award
Ryan Armbruster

Bethlehem Women's Club Nursing Award
Rebecca T. Greene2017 Awards Convocation

Funeral Service Education
Melissa L. Detweiler

Drs. Edward and Arnold R. Cook Award for Excellence in Dental Hygiene
Deborah Leigh Thomas

Hites Family Foundation Higher Education Endowment Scholarship
Mark A. Crenshaw
Dalia M. Garcia

Honors Program Award
Lana A. Black
Aaron Pappalardo
Nadjarazthou Raicha Kamara

Institute of Management Accounting Award
Carsia C. Christian

Just Born Business Award
Donna White

Lehigh and Northampton Association Award for Excellence in Early Childhood Education
Jazmin Nicole Ortiz-Zervos

Liberal Arts Award
Stephen D. Berry
Kenan D. Meral

Marconi Award for Radio/TV
Camille M. Kacerik

Marketing Insight Award
Ahnika R. Bogart
Lana A. Black, Professor, Dr. Cara McClintock-Walsh, Nadjarazthou Raicha Kamara
Math Award
Álvaro R. Belmonte

Monroe County Association for the Education of Young Children Award
Rachel D. Belka

NCC Service Learning Award
Kylie P. Buscemi

Norman R. Roberts Theatre Scholarship Fund Award
Tyler Matthew Fernandez
Matthew Hogan
Miranda Lee Ritter

Northampton County Bar Association Award
Joseph Nicnick

Outstanding Academic Achievement in Chemistry Award
Ryan Armbruster

PA Funeral Directors Award
Amanda L. Ebeling

Irvine Freshman Leadership Award
Heather Ashley Pope

Who's Who Among Students (awarded at another ceremony):
Alicia Mae Balliet, Lori Ann Bloch, Zachary Brown, Joseph Butto, Nancy Carmona, Lauren Clement-LaRoche, Himil Desai, Quetcy Dueno, Kaitlyn Dunne, Amber Hess, Shelby Karayanis, Samantha Nappie, Shaudey Rivers, Hunter Runge, Amanda Washington, Mia Zangl, Gonzalo Zermeno

In his student address, Ryan R. Armbruster, recipient of the highest award, the Trustee Leadership Award, as well as the Outstanding Academic Achievement in Ryan ArmbrusterChemistry and the Pearson Education awards, described what he appreciated most about his two years at NCC.  "I learned to lead in a new way," he said.  "A leader is one who has been given the opportunity and honor of serving others."  He also said that he learned humility and experienced the passion of learning at the College, recalling classes with "Professor Charley" Rinehimer (biology) and William Magilton (chemistry).  In concordance with Armbruster's mission "to serve others to my greatest capacity," his ultimate plan is to work with Doctors without Borders. 

Closing remarks by Dr. Mark Erickson, NCC president, lauded faculty, honored the honorees and their families, and expressed the pride of the NCC family in the awardees' accomplishments.  Acknowledging the struggles and sacrifices students' and their families have often made, he urged the students to keep the inner strength that brought them to this moment.
The program closed with NCC's alma mater song, "Oh Northampton," written (lyrics and music) and performed on piano by Professor Mario Acerra.