Student Celebration Honors Student Leaders

Special recognition for students

Myra Saturen,

Northampton Community College (NCC) students were honored in May for their contributions to College life on the Monroe and Bethlehem campuses.  The ceremony was virtual because of the COVID-19 pandemic.  

Dr. Matthew Connell, dean of the Monroe Campus, introduced the announcements of the award recipients.  “This is a time to reflect on what you’ve learned as leaders and members of College clubs,” he said.  “You’ve developed a toolkit of experiences and knowledge that will carry you forwards as you proceed from NCC.”

Connell’s theme of reflection included the environment students, staff and faculty created over the academic year to get students engaged and involved in leadership and opportunities on campus.  “We appreciate all you’ve done and thank you,” he said.  “You’ve developed yourselves and made both the Monroe and Bethlehem campuses and the College better places for students, faculty and staff.  You inspire us.  Know that you continue to affect us.”

Students surprised Connell, who is retiring, with a special video tribute, recounting all the ways he's helped them on their journey.

Awards included:

Special Recognition: 2020 American Advertising Federation Competition – The ADDY Awards

Miranda Calabrese, Lorenzo Casas, Lila Shokr, and Phil Jones each received Gold Awards.

Lila Shokr and Sydney DeLeon received a combined Five Silver Awards

Jason Zulli – Assistant Professor of Art won Best in Show for his #Mystery Lights Project

Peer Supporters – Monroe Campus

Bianca Lorusso

Victoria Barrios

Brian Nielsen

Kim Gallo

Erin Cusumano

Victoria Kunkel

Zoie Garrison

Theodore Fredericksen

Courtney Lutes

Fiona Nicks

Talia Bassett

Shanice Ferron

Monroe Intramural Champions

Flag Football

Esteban Smith

Gabriel Castillo

Tahir Thompson

Jakub Murawski

Michal Murawski

Matthew Mussenden


Jakub Murawski

Michal Murawski

Michael Wlodarczyk

Jack Arnold


Esteban Smith

Marven Thomas

Zion Murunga

Nicholas Ng

Phi Theta Kappa Awards

Phi Theta Kappa All-Academic Team

Kim Gallo – Monroe Campus

Melissa Benzinger-McGlynn – Monroe Campus

Jason Allesch – Monroe Campus

Danielle Hanson – Bethlehem Campus

Laura Rex – Bethlehem Campus

Phi Theta Kappa Beta Beta Chi Chapter Awards – Monroe Campus

5 Star Chapter

REACH Chapter

MSR Gold Chapter

Hall of Honor Chapter Officer – Shadae Chambers

College Project – 23rd in region

Honors in Action – 14th in region

Theme 1 – 5th place

13th Distinguished Chapter

5 Star Advisors – Fran Boshell and Belinda Bartholomew

Evan Meister is now PA President for the Region

Phi Theta Kapa Tau Gamma Chapter Awards – Bethlehem Campus

Most Distinguished Chapter Officer Award – Danielle Hanson 2nd place

Most Distinguished Chapter Officer Award – Laura Rex 3rd place

Super Hero of the Year – Laura Rex

Most Distinguished College Administrator – Dr. Sedgwick Harris, VP of Student Affairs

5 Star Advisors – Tyler Russell and Megan Borascius

5 Star Chapter Award

Middle States Gold Chapter

Completion Week Award – Completion Week Programming

Distinguished College Project Award 9th place

Honors in Action Theme Award – Visions of Justice 1st place

Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award 4th place

Distinguished Chapter Award 7th place

Environmental Excellence – Bethlehem Campus

Michael Nieves

Community Education Award – Monroe Campus

Angelene Baker

Student Enrollment Award – Monroe Campus

Chris Hickey

Student Life and Leadership Presidential Award – Monroe Campus

Evan Meister

Prism Award

Charlotte Wetherhold – Bethlehem Campus

Aron Furman – Bethlehem Campus

Joeann Gerrard – Monroe Campus

Laconic Spring Release Best of Student Submission Literature and Art Awards – Bethlehem Campus

Chrome Roman

Silent Impact Award – Monroe Campus

Kaitlyn Burkit

Irvine Freshman Leadership Award

Elijah Vazquez

Quetcy Dueno Leadership Award – Monroe Campus

Kim Gallo

Clubs of the Year

Photography Club – Monroe

Women’s Club – Bethlehem

Club Advisors of the Year

Fran Boshell, Belinda Bartholomew, and Sonia Massie (PTK) – Monroe

Robert Hays (The Commuter) – Bethlehem

Club Officers of the Year

Alyssa Hoopman (NSO) – Monroe

Dominique Ann Carter (NSO) – Bethlehem

Trustees Leadership Award

Ariana Smith – Bethlehem Campus